Past and Present

I walked up the stairs that overlook the entire contents of the first floor of the Waterloo Public Library and felt as if I were climbing them for the first time.

I used to climb them with Sami after school to check out fantasy books. She looked for the newest Terry Goodkind novel and I dabbled in dreams, mythology and Japanese.

Today, I walked in the front doors alone and much older. I wasn’t with my best friend from high school with our heavy backpacks filled to the brim with homework and our own workings in multicolored spirals…

I wasn’t using the free internet with my high school sweetheart like when we lived together downtown and couldn’t afford it…

I wasn’t even there with my fiance who likes to play me at chess but always loses, except twice because I let him win.

Thoughts?

