Turtles, Manatees and BP, “OIL, MY!”

I don’t care about the series finale of “Lost.” I don’t return the glances and rabid white teeth of celebrities at the cash register. I don’t watch much reality television, in fact, I canceled cable a few months ago and never looked back. I find that even without my daily dose of 24-hour ticker-vision, 2 am channel surfing, or even access to the local news I am still more informed than a lot of my acquaintances. I don’t know what else I can do. I don’t join Facebook groups or tweet every two minutes. I do make videos and write blogs. My college papers must be quite popular among middle schoolers looking for papers to examine, perhaps plagiarize.

I’m not here to judge anyone, not the sixth grader accessing my book review of “Under the Feet of Jesus” that I wrote as a college sophomore, not even the people responsible for the worst oil slick in history. A company that hires ordinary Americans after wiping out their industry. A company who is doing everything it can to ensure its precious commodity is safe while assuring the rest of us they are doing all they can. It does no good to blame this company when most of our fellow Americans react to any disaster with apathy or blatant ignorance. I live in a small city in the Midwest, so maybe there is nothing I can personally do about an ocean full of oil, but there is something I can do about my personal consumption. I believe a small step is increasing our recycling and plastic recovery efforts (keeping more plastics aka oil out of the ocean and landfills) this in conjunction with investment in alternative energy sources as well as a cut back in our consumption as a household, city, state, country, species can have a positive effect.

I promise there is much more to come on this issue. Right now I have to play Monopoly. I’m not even joking; I’m going to eat my pizza, play my capitalistic propaganda board game and watch instant streaming television shows on Netflix via my Nintendo Wii.

Thoughts?

