I Read the News Today…

This may seem grim but a young man hung himself in the park featured in this series of photographs earlier in the summer. His was one of several deaths (hangings and shootings) that happened in Waterloo, Iowa in 2010. There was a shooting right behind the Subway I work as well as one that killed an innocent man standing on his porch. So many negative things have happened in my community in the last few years that I wanted to create art and literature that shows the beauty that also surrounds us. I try to find beauty in the darkest places, luckily, October 22, 2010 was bright and wonderful and now thanks to these  images that day shall live on in my memory and now forever on the internet! It shows just one of the days I have chosen to capture creativity and positivity rather than giving up and giving into surrounding negativity and suffering. I hope you all chose to do the same in your own communities and find ways of sharing that with others.

Thoughts?

