ELECTRIC SIX — VAUDEVILLE MEWS

November 2, 2010

DV: You’re very lucky to live here.
Our first song tonight is a bouncy piano number in the key of Z…

(1. After Hours) Zodiac (2010)

Here comes Cookey Joe, looking to make it snow.
I wish I didn’t know what I know.
And that’s why you were hired, hired.
Don’t do your job and you’ll be fired, fired.
You can’t get tired after hours, hours
head getting high and filled with towers, towers.
They congregate here after hours, hours,
they tellin’ lies, that’s how rumors get started and destinies die.

Tick tock, sexy clock
Where did the time go?
You can’t go blind blowing your load.
(And that’s why god’s) a liar, liar,
You’re on the range, you need a fire, fire.
We’ll take you higher
After hours…

DV: We’re Electric Six, we’re from Ames, Iowa. Give yourselves a big hand.  This is song number three. a la esquierda (to the left) the ‘White Wolf’…

(3. Gay Bar) Fire (2003)

Girl!
I wanna take you to a gay bar,
I wanna take you to a gay bar,
I wanna take you to a gay bar, gay bar, gay bar…

DV: Thanks a lot, this is a reggae song. We’ll move directly into some of the other songs…

(7. Your Heat Is Rising) Flashy (2008)

I didn’t do anything last year,
except for dreaming of doing nothing this year.
So come put your finger in my ear
’cause your heat is rising,
and your heat is rising.

Any time you wanna leave your lover for me
would be a good time to leave your lover for me.
So come lose your ooze upon my knee
’cause your heat is rising,
and your heat is rising.

‘Cause fires like these
enable thieves to steal from your mind,
and everything you once believed
you must leave it all behind.
‘Cause your heat, heat is rising
And your heat is rising…

DV: Iowa.
Crowd: (Woo) (Every county) (A month in Iowa) (Make it two) (Do it!)
DV: Make it happen.

(11. Danger, High Voltage) Fire (2003)

Fire in the disco,
fire in the Taco Bell!
Fire in the disco,
fire in the gates of hell!

Don’t you want to know how we keep starting fires?
It’s my desire, it’s my desire, it’s my desire!
Don’t you want to know how we keep starting fires?
It’s my desire, it’s my desire, it’s my desire!

Danger, danger, high voltage!
When we touch, when we kiss!
Danger, danger, high voltage!
When we touch, when we kiss, when we touch!

Danger, danger, yes, voltage!
When we touch, when we kiss!
Danger, danger, high voltage!
When we touch, when we kiss, when we touch, when we kiss (Lover?)…

(13. Down At McDonaldz) I Shall Exterminate Everything Around Me That Restricts Me From Being The Master (2007)

Closing is the gift to the night shift,
and now you’ve got two minutes to go. Yup!
Swept up the floors, locked all the doors,
lights out and now it’s time to go…

(memory card #1 filled)

…(And) you just wanna go…
All you wanna do is make it stop
so you call the cops, but the cops, they never show.

The leader sees your fear, so pulls you near,
says “Son – there’s something you ought to know.”
He said “Time ceases its marches at the golden arches,
and that’s what we’re here for.”

He said: “My people need a place to go!” (Go!)
My people need a place to go! (Go!)
People need a place to go!
People need a place to go!

Now everybody down at McDonnellzzz,
they down with Ronald McDonald,
and now they hitting the bottle,
and everybody cool!

Now everybody down at McDonnellzzz,
they down with Ronald McDonald,
and now they hitting the bottle,
and everybody cool!

DV: Electric Six wants to show you a good time, so Electric Six is going to do three more songs. Electric Six wants to touch you. We’ll do a song off the new record. This is a song the record company says we should do.

Crowd: (Laughter) (Boo)

*Intro to Rubberband Man from the newest Electric Six album, Zodiac (2010)

*I bought it on vinyl (with free electronic download) GREAT STUFF!

(Rant)

DV: The most perfectly air conditioned venue in the United States. The ventilation here is perfect. The temperature on stage is perfect. The night is perfect. This is the most exciting city in the United States and don’t ever forget it. Tonight is a political night. Tonight, the United States looked to politics for its answer. Tonight, the United States opened up the USA Today and it realized that today was election day. I looked at the USA Today and I saw… I saw everything broken down in bright colors and pie graphs and future charts and I saw my future mapped out. In the USA Today. I picked up a copy of the USA Today at my Ramada Inn by Marriott and I saw my political future mapped out in a series of pie graphs and colorful charts sponsored by Delta Airlines. And this was my politics. This was the politics I had today this morning in the year, in the year 2525. It never ends, it seriously never ends…

DV: Thanks a lot, We’re Electric Six…

Other songs from the show:

One thought on “ELECTRIC SIX — VAUDEVILLE MEWS

  1. Pingback: ELECTRIC SIX — VAUDEVILLE MEWS (Des Moines, Iowa) « blastedgoat | Huges Mews

Thoughts?

