Rest In White Stripes

Something I made a long time ago… my love for the Stripes runs deep.

The White Stripes will probably always be my favorite band because I so much of their music. I can name handfuls of songs across their diverse six albums (all of which I own in some format or another, the first three being on vinyl) that I can’t imagine living without: Wasting My Time, Do, One More Cup Of Coffee, Little Bird, Apple Blossom, Death Letter, Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground, Hotel Yorba, Expecting, Little Room, The Union Forever, The Same Boy You’ve Always Known, Offend In Every Way, I Can Learn, Seven Nation Army, There’s No Home For You Here, I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself, In The Cold, Cold Night, The Hardest Button to Button, Little Acorns, The Air Near My Fingers, Blue Orchid, My Doorbell, Forever For Her (Is Over For Me), The Denial Twist, Take, Take, Take, As Ugly As I Seem, Icky Thump, Conquest, Little Cream Soda, A Martyr For My Love For You, Effect And Cause, Love Sick… and many more.
*covers
*singles

When I was a teenager I used to walk around late at night. It was usually warm but sometimes I would even do it in the dead of winter. I walked for miles and I only hitchhiked twice. I would listen to music, sometimes I even ran a few blocks at a time. I loved listening to The White Stripes. At that point I didn’t know the correct name for most of their songs because they were all downloaded. I used Napster, KaZaa, Limewire… you get the picture. I remember distinctly listening to “Pain (Gimme Sympathy)” which was really one of three songs from one of Jack’s earlier bands, The Upholsterers. I would think about my life and how it would be different when I finally grew up. I would look up at the stars and wonder what I might become. I wanted to become a writer at an early age. I also have a passion for art and music but feel I am talented in those areas to a much lesser degree. That is why I try to share the best, or at least the most promising work I’ve done on here. People in the real world, at least the real world of Waterloo, Iowa don’t usually get the kind of things I write about. I think most musicians, artists and writers have that in common. Ultimately, I can only be myself. That’s why this blog is so important. I am able to keep notes and records of things I like, copies of things I’ve written. I’m beginning to see some progress. I’m also participating in the WordPress.com post-a-day 2011 challenge. So far I have not run out of things to say, take pictures, or make videos of. My goal is to last the entire year without missing a post; I’ve already made it through January and into February without missing!

I hope you’ll stick with me just like I’ll be sticking with Jack. Hunter and Kurt may be gone but the work they left behind still speaks to me and to all fans when we’re in need. I hope Jack is around for a very long time. May his music continue to speak the truth and add beauty to this uncertain world.

Here’s a video about my idols: Jack White, Hunter S. Thompson and Kurt Cobain. It was made in October 2009:

REST IN PEACE WHITE STRIPES

Thoughts?

