The End is Near… Fudge!

I’m pulling out ratty blankets to cover frosty windows as we speak. Blizzard warnings are in the back of my mind but only withered grass slouches on my lawn. I have a tiny shovel to help dig out. A Santa candle. Supplies for fudge-making. Cancelled mid-week plans to visit my friend an hour away. Damn snow! I hope you’re pretty…

I hope the world doesn’t end on Friday with me stuck in this town with buckets of homemade fudge intended for friends I haven’t seen in a while. I usually feel anxious when venturing out on a road trip or when I haven’t talked to a friend in a long time. There is an uneasy feeling that I can’t remember the last time we laughed at an inappropriate joke or that I may never return home… I’m not saying the world is going to end in a few days but just in case I’m trying to act as if existence might blink out before I get the chance to leave my hometown, taste another of my grandma’s famous pumpkin bars or even get a goodbye kiss a friend who’s moving away.

Who knows… we might all just end up snowed in, shut off, forever forgotten. Maybe wintertime makes me turn my thoughts inward and to darker themes or perhaps it was that last episode of Dinosaurs I watched last night. Either way, I’ll keep myself busy making fudge. Hopefully my camera can manage decent pictures so I can share a little holiday cheer with all of you, it’s only fair after all that… Here’s some from last year while you wait!

fudge flower spinkles

2 thoughts on “The End is Near… Fudge!

Thoughts?

